Focus on Ghada Wali, the engaged artist

  • Talks & Workshops
  • Ghada is the first speaker to say yes to us. So we wanted to mark the occasion and tell you a bit more about her because we’re very proud and grateful – as we are with all our speakers, of course – to have her with us in June. 

    At only 28 years of age and originally from Egypt, Ghada Wali is an artist, designer and graphic designer, whose aim is to revolutionise the world with her creations which are inspired by Arab and Egyptian culture.

    After studying design at the European Institute of Design in Florence, Italy, Ghada Wali continued her professional career and managed to find a place in the field.

    Her outstanding projects have put her among the top 100 graphic designers at the Society of Typographic Arts Chicago.

     

    “Before an Arab woman can have the chance to be recognised globally, in a world dominated by men and westerners, I’m sure there were a million other women who weren’t able to achieve a mass public.”

    Not only is Ghada Wali proud to reflect her identity as an Egyptian and as a woman in her work, but she’s also an advocate for connecting history to a rapidly-changing future through the use of design. Her defining feature? Speaking up through her engaged creations to denounce societal issues.

    At less than 30 years old, this woman is triumphing with numerous awards (the Granshan competition in Munich, two Adobe Design Achievement awards in San Diego, the Women in Design Award in Milan).

     

     

     

    You could say that 2017 was her year because she became the first Egyptian woman to appear in Forbes Europe’s Arts & Immigrants category..

    Her progressive approach is reflected in her works and, for the first time in Egyptian history, it allowed her to receive a reward in the field of graphic design and visual communication.

     

     

     

    The personality and genius of this artist have made her one of the 50 most influential Egyptian women of 2017.

    So we will be very happy and excited to meet her at Web2day 2018!!  ?

Focus sur Ghada Wali, l’artiste engagée

  • Conf & Workshops
  • Ghada est la 1ère intervenante à nous avoir dit oui. Nous avions donc envie de marquer le coup et de vous en dire un peu plus sur elle car nous sommes très fiers et reconnaissants – comme pour tous nos speakers évidemment 🙂 – de l’avoir parmi nous en juin. 

    À seulement 28 ans, originaire d’Egypte, Ghada Wali est une artiste, designer et graphiste, qui a pour objectif de révolutionner le monde avec ses créations inspirées de la culture arabe et égyptienne.

    Après ses études en design à l’IED à Florence, en Italie, Ghada Wali a continué son parcours professionnel et a su se faire une place dans le milieu. 

    Ses projets exceptionnels la placent parmi les 100 meilleurs graphistes de la Society of Typographic Arts Chicago.

     

    « Avant qu’une femme arabe puisse avoir une chance d’être reconnue mondialement, dans un monde dominé par les hommes et les occidentaux, je suis sûre qu’il y a un million d’autres femmes qui n’ont pas réussi à atteindre une masse publique. »

    Ghada Wali est non seulement fière de refléter son identité d’égyptienne et de femme dans son travail, mais elle préconise également de relier l’histoire à un futur en évolution rapide en utilisant le design. Sa particularité ? Prendre la parole à travers ses créations engagées pour dénoncer des sujets sociétaux.

    A moins de 30 ans, cette femme triomphe puisqu’elle compte à son actif de nombreux prix (concours Granshan à Munich, deux prix Adobe Design Achievement à San Diego, le prix Women in Design Award à Milan).

     

     

    On dirait bien que 2017 fut son année car c’est la première femme égyptienne à apparaître dans la catégorie Arts & Immigrants au Forbes Europe.

    Son approche progressiste figure dans ses oeuvres et lui a permis pour la première fois dans l’histoire de l’Egypte, d’obtenir une récompense dans le domaine du graphisme et de la communication visuelle.

     

     

    La personnalité et le génie de cette artiste ont fait d’elle, une des 50 femmes égyptiennes les plus influentes de 2017.

     

    C’est donc avec enthousiasme et excitation que nous la retrouverons lors du Web2day 2018 !! ?